Book Reviews

(Review) The Man I Think I Know – Mike Gayle

The Man I Think I Know is a lovely story about two men who knew eachother at school, but didn’t mix in the same circles. Life has not been kind to either of them and Gayle tells their story about overcoming these difficulties. The main characters, Danny and James, find friendship in the unlikeliest of ways and they both end up helping eachother get their life on the right path.

Gayle explores the power of male friendship with this emotional rollercoaster of a story, yet also keeps it realistic and in places very humorous. I loved the development of each character and I thought James in particular was very well written.

This isn’t a book I would typically reach for off the shelves and so at first I wasn’t sure if it was going to be for me. However, after the first two chapters I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see how James and Danny would end up finding and helping eachother. I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised. The story never became dull or tedious as something happened in every chapter so I couldn’t bring myself to put it down.

I would genuinely recommend this book to anyone who is scared to leave their genre comfort zone, as it is impossible not to like, and to root for both of the characters and their happiness.

Leave a comment